Looking Into the Void

Dear Adi,

I had a dream last night, like all dreams I have.

But this one was different.

Standing on a ledge, I peer to discover the world below.

But it wasn’t even a world. It was darkness.

The darkness seems to welcome me as I fall into the void, the shadows clouding my mind.


I had another dream.

It was the same dream. I was standing on a ledge, peering over to see the welcoming darkness.

The looming shadows seem to lure me to fall, to surrender under their grasp.

I almost do, but I remember what happened when I fell.

I’m not a mindless puppet. I hold myself high, determined to defeat the blackness that is taunting me.

I still fall into the void.


I return to visit the void.

It beckons me to fall under its grasp again, but I refuse.

“I don’t need to collapse in your darkness again.” I say.

I walk away, head defiant and high.


Defeating the darkness,

Maire

One thought on “Looking Into the Void

  1. And you say you’re not a poet. Nice work! I can’t help but wonder if you noticed, but in my latest update on my workshop, I mention le vide, which is french for the void. It’s a very interesting concept, and I hope you’ll expand on it.

    Like

Leave a comment